The latest version of WordPress comes with a trash feature which basically work just like recycle bin on your Windows computer. When you delete a post, page or comment, instead of permanent deletion, it goes into trash. So, you can restore it later if you realize that it was deleted accidentally.
By default, anything in WordPress trash is stored for 30 days, unless you delete it manually. But you may want to disable trash in WordPress to save database memory, or for any other reason. You can do it easily. Just add the following line in your wp-config.php file,
That’s it. You’ll now see “Delete Permanently” link instead of “Trash”.
Note that instead of disabling WordPress trash completely, I suggest limiting the number of days WordPress stores the trashed content. To change it, just add the following line in your wp-config.php file,
This will tell WordPress to empty trash after every three days. You can configure the number of days to suit your requirements.